Logo Follow ItalyHeritage on Facebook
You are here:CalabriaProvince of Reggio Calabria ➩ Locri

Locri, Province of Reggio Calabria, Calabria, Italy

An ancient town of Greek origin, still has outside the city several necropolis, some of which are very large, was called by philosopher Plato "the flower of Italy".


Population: ca. 13,000 inhabitants -- Zip/postal code: 89044 -- Phone Area Code: 0964

Where to stay


Locri Epizephyri (epi-Zephyros meant in Greek under the West wind) was founded about 680 BC on the Italian shores of the Ionian Sea, near modern Capo Zefirio, by the Locrians.

After a century, a wall around the city was created from large blocks. Epizephyrian Locri was one of the most important cities in Magna Graecia. It was renowned for its lawgiver Zaleucus, who required that anyone who proposed a change in his laws should do so with a noose about his neck, with which he should be hanged if the amendment did not pass.

In the early centuries Locri was allied with Sparta, and later with Syracuse. It founded two colonies of its own, Hipponion and Medma. It was abandoned in the 5th century AD, and finally destroyed by the Saracens.

What to see:

  • Ionic temple of Marasà: In the first half of 5th century BC, the Locrians destroyed the archaic temple and rebuilt a new temple in the Ionic style. The temple was designed by Syracusean architects around 470 BC based on the idea of Hiero I of Syracuse. The new temple has the same place as the previous one but it has a different orientation. The temple was destroyed in the 11th century. The temple was 45.5 meters x 19.8 meters, and 12 meters in height. The pronaos had two columns. The temple has 17 ionic columns on the long side, and 6 on the front.
  • The theater, built not far from the ancient city, in the Contrada Pirettina, in order to take advantage of the hills, in the 4th century BC. The original structure could accomodate over 4,500 people, now only the central part of the theater is visible. Part of the Cavea (Koilon in Greek) was cut in the rocks. Each plane was divided into 7 wedges (Kerkìdes) between 6 stairs (Klimakes). An horizontal separation (Diazoma) divided the upper theater (Epitheatron) from the lower theater.

Where to stay

Province of Reggio Calabria

Provinces of Calabria: Catanzaro | Cosenza | Crotone | Reggio Calabria | Vibo Valentia